2013-03-23 / Sports

Post season basketball honor for Songer

Cameron County’s Jon Songer and Port Allegany’s Kristina Francis were honored as coaches of the year as the Northern Tier High School Basketball Leagues announced postseason awards last week.

Songer guided the Red Raiders to a successful season that ended in the PIAA District 9 playoffs after a strong challenge to Smethport, the eventual Northern Tier League champion and state Class A contender.

Francis led the Gators to the league championship and a strong run through the playoffs.

League coaches voted on ceremonial all-star teams. First-team selections were:

--NTL Boys: Tyler Wigfield and Nate Sestina, both Cameron County; John Michael Rigas, Coudersport; Zach Smith (most valuable player) and Clay Schuler, both Smethport; and Spencer Howard, Oswayo Valley.

--NTL Girls: Taylor Green and Jenna Gabreski, both Coudersport; Brooke Dunsmore, Cameron County; Becca Lathrop (most valuable player) and Brooke Roys, both Port Allegany; and Ashley Brown, Otto-Eldred.

Return to top